Samuel Berchie Kankam, M.D. student from Ghana, sat down for a little chat with Emmanuel A

ارسال ها
لایک ها
امتیاز
Interviewer (Emmanuel Adutwum): Good Morning!Samuel Berchie Kankam: Good morning, Emmanuel! - Can you please tell us a little bit about yourself?- My name is Samuel Berchie Kankam, a Ghanaian and a first year medical student at arguably the best medical university in Iran, that is Tehran University of Medical Sciences (TUMS). I came to Iran in early February this year. I am currently in my second semester, and I can say that all has been well so far. - Great! If I could ask, who influenced you the most in your early years?- Well, I seem to have had a lot of people making substantial influence in my early life but among all is my eldest brother, Benjamin Afreh, who, after realizing my interest in medicine, made every effort to encourage me to keep up with my studies. He taught me that hard work is the only key to great success. He introduced me to a lot of people who have successfully made it in life despite the odds and has always motivated me to do my best. In fact, he has been a brother and a guardian, and everything I’m doing today is by his help. I am really grateful to him. - How did you hear about this university?- Hmmm, actually, I had the motivation to study medicine when I was in my first year in senior high school. However, there were limited facilities to accommodate all graduating high school students interested in medicine in my home country. I had also thought of studying abroad which I knew could add to my experience. I then started my search for medical schools abroad where I came across the advertisement of TUMS over the internet. Without delay, I submitted my application, and, fortunately, I was selected with a scholarship.. - Is first year in medical school too stressful?- [Laughs] I would say yes. In the first year of medical school, the student’s mind is not that well acquainted with medical terminologies which makes the experience